Complete list of Champions Trophy winners

Complete list of Champions Trophy winners

Destined to be played from the next year in England and Wales, Champions Trophy 2017 will be the 8th of its kind. One of the biggest cricket event in the world, after ICC world cups, Champions Trophy has always been a thrilling cricket contest. Although, the current cricket schedules for all test playing nations provide well enough opportunities to all the teams. Still the lack of a major event featuring more than two or three sides is a deep-felt fact. Usually, teams get set for their upcoming tours for the whole year as drafted by ICC with the help of the respective cricket boards. On the contrary, the fact that majority of these events are bilateral series among two teams cannot be overlooked.

Champions Trophy winners India

No doubt, bilateral series are the best form of a cricket event with two sides battling to come out as the triumphant.  In fact a series between two bitter rivals further raises its popularity and charm. Cricket lovers all over the world wait desperately for a bilateral contest between some of the most furious rivals on the field like India against Pakistan or England vs Australia. However it is also true that a cricket event that brings every test playing team into a common battle is a lot more liked by the fans. ICC cricket world cups usually get their arrangement after a period of four years. Though four year gap is not a specified period still it takes time to re-emerge on the cricket horizon. On the other hand cricket fans strive to watch any quality cricket due to the shortage of multilateral international competitive cricket.

Champions Trophy winners Australia

Considering the causes given, ICC Champions trophy is no less than a heavenly cricket festival for the fans. At one hand a team gets crowned as the Champions Trophy winners, on the other, fans enjoy nonstop quality cricket. Named as the mini world cup for its worldwide popularity as well as intensive competition level, Champions Trophy winners gets highly praised. Looking back at its previous seven editions, Australia and India have won the trophy on two occasions. The defending champions of the cup India jointly won their first trophy in 2002 when the final was washed out. As a result both finalists India and Sri Lanka were declared to be the joint Champions Trophy winners. The 2017 Champions trophy will feature top eight sides of the world. All team have already booked their place on the basis of their ICC rankings measured till December 2015.

Complete list of Champions Trophy winners

Year Host Winner Runner Up
1998 Dhaka, Bangladesh South Africa West Indies
2000 Nairobi, Kenya India New Zealand
2002 Sri Lanka India and Sri Lanka
2004 England West Indies England
2006 India Australia West Indies
2009 South Africa Australia New Zealand
2013 England India England

Leave a Reply